As a result of the smaller increase of population shown by the Census of 1921, the changes in representation were less far-reaching. Nova Scotia lost 2 members and the West gained 12, 2 of these being added to Manitoba, 5 to Saskatchewan, 4 to Alberta and 1 to British Columbia. The representation of the remaining four provinces was unchanged. Prince Edward Island retained its 4 members because of the provisions of the amendment of 1915 to the B.N.A. Act of 1915, to the effect that the members of the House of Commons returned by a province shall never be fewer than its senators. Ontario, again, retained its 82 members because (under Subsection 4 of Section 51 of the British North America Act) the proportion which its population bore to the aggregate population of the Dominion had not declined by one-twentieth. Further, by the Quebec Boundaries Extension Act of 1912, it had been stipulated that the population of the added area (Ungava) should not be included for the purpose of determining the unit of representation, so that the 1921 population of Quebec, within its 1911 boundaries, viz., 2,358,412, divided by the fixed number of 65 seats for that province, became the new unit of representation, 36.283.

The population of Quebec in 1931, exclusive of the population (2,177) of the territory added to Quebec by the Boundaries Extension Act of 1912, was 2,872,078, which, divided by 65, gave a unit of representation of 44,186. The populations of the Provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Manitoba each showed a decrease in the rate of growth as compared with the rate for Canada as a whole, but because that decrease in Ontario and Manitoba was less than one-twentieth the representation of these two provinces remained the same as in 1931. The proportion for each of the other provinces diminished by more than one-twentieth and as a consequence Nova Scotia lost 2 members. The representation of Prince Edward Island and of New Brunswick on a strict basis of population would have been reduced by 2 members each but, because of the provision that members of the House of Commons returned by a province shall never be fewer than its senators, the representation of the former province remained unchanged at 4 and that of the latter was reduced from 11 to 10. The representation of Saskatchewan remained at 21, while Alberta gained 1 member and British Columbia 2.

A table showing, the representation of the Provinces and Territories of Canada in the House of Commons, as determined by the Censuses of 1911, 1921 and 1931 is given at p. 76 of the 1934-35 Year Book.

The number of representatives of each province elected at each of the nineteen general elections since Confederation is given in Table 8.

8.—Representation	in	the	House	of	Commons	as	at	Dominion	General	Elections
					1867-1940					

Province	1867	1872	1874 1878	1882	1887 1891	1896 1900	1904	1908 1911	1917 1921	1925 1926 1930	1935 1940
Ontario. Quebec Nova Scotia Manitoba. British Columbia Prince Edward Island. Saskatchewan. Alberta. Yukon.	82 65 19 15 	88 65 21 16 4 6 -	88 65 21 16 4 6 6 -	92 65 21 16 5 6 - -	92 65 21 16 5 6 6 4	92 65 20 14 7 6 5 4	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 {	86 65 18 13 10 7 4 10 7 1	82 65 16 11 15 13 4 16 12 1	82 65 14 11 17 14 21 16 1	82 65 12 10 17 16 4 21 17 1
Totals	181	200	206	211	215	213	214	221	235	245	245